# K.T. Zilch heads AOCS















Zilch

Smouse

Pelick

Tallent

Hastert

Mounts

Nitte

Dr. Karl T. Zilch, research director for the fatty and dibasic acids group at Emery Industries Inc. in Cincinnati, Ohio, became president of the American Oil Chemists' Society during the AOCS 73rd Annual Meeting held during May in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Dr. Zilch succeeded Dr. E.G. Perkins, professor of food chemistry and environmental toxicology at the University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois.

Other officers elected to one-year terms who took office in May are: Dr. Thomas H. Smouse, vice-president; Nicholas Pelick, secretary; Dr. W.H. Tallent, treasurer, and Robert C. Hastert, Timothy L. Mounts and Norman H. Witte, members-at-large for the Governing Board.

A total of 3,167 ballots were mailed to eligible voters earlier this year and 1,200 ballots were returned in time to be counted on April 13, 1982. Fewer than a dozen ballots

were marked incorrectly.

Dr. Smouse is manager of lipid sciences in the Protein, Dairy and Polymer Research and Development Division of Ralston Purina Co., St. Louis, Missouri. Pelick is president of Supelco, Inc. in Bellefonte, Pennsylvania. Dr. Tallent is director of the USDA Northern Regional Research Center in Peoria, Illinois. Hastert is product manager for the catalyst department, Harshaw Chemical Co. in Beachwood, Ohio; Mounts is chief of the Oilseed Crops Laboratory at the USDA Northern Regional Research Center in Peoria; and Witte is technical director for the Central Soya Company, Inc. in Fort Wayne, Indiana.

Dr. Joyce Beare-Rogers, who was a candidate for vicepresident in this year's election, will serve on the Governing Board during the coming year.

## Headquarters staff changes





It has been awhile since we've informed AOCS members about staff changes in the Champaign office, so we'll catch up on a bunch of changes this month.

The photograph above of Scotty Miller gives you a face to put with a name we introduced you to a few months ago. He is the first Director of Methods Development on the AOCS staff.

The other photograph belongs to Bonny Moser, the new production manager for AOCS. She directs the production of all AOCS printed materials, prepares displays for exhibits, designs brochures and accomplishes just about any task connected with printing.

She succeeds Joyce Tikalsky who gave birth to a boy Wednesday, April 21, just five days after her final day of work. Ms. Moser has 15 years' experience in publishing, advertising and public relations, having worked with Northwestern University, the American Society of Planning Officials, the Journal of Analytical Toxicology, Medical Digest and the Illinois Bankers Association.

One new member of her staff is Deborah J. Shreffler, who joined the staff in March of 1982 as a typesetter, replacing Suzi Carmichael who has married and moved to Virginia. Ms. Shreffler previously worked for a local county newspaper.

Elisabeth Hanson, production assistant, has retired. New production assistant is Michael Miner, a graduate of Illinois College and Sangamon State University. He received an Illinois Arts Council Award in 1981 for poetry. Before joining AOCS he was a production assistant at the Chicago Reader, a weekly newspaper of some renown in Chicago.

Barbara Fitch Haumann has succeeded Robin Miller as assistant news editor for JAOCS. Ms. Haumann is a 1970 graduate of the University of Bridgeport in Connecticut and immediately before joining AOCS was editor for a local weekly newspaper in Champaign-Urbana. Ms. Miller now works for the Illinois State Water Survey.

Finally, the new AOCS receptionist—the lady who answers the telephone when you call AOCS—is Vera Sands. She has secretarial experience with the University of Illinois and was a bit of serendipity in that she first came to AOCS from a local temporary office help agency when her predecessor departed with brief notice.



### **AOCS at Pittsburgh Conference**

AOCS Advertising Director Pat Graham, left, and Director of Methods Development Scotty Miller attended the 1982 Pittsburgh Conference in Atlantic City to provide information about AOCS to meeting registrants. The exhibit is part of an expanded program to attract new members. Similar exhibits may be presented at such meetings as the Association of Official Analytical Chemists, American Chemical Society and others. The Pittsburgh Conference, previously held in Cleveland, moved to Atlantic City a few years ago.

#### Methods reviewed

(The following report on work of the AOCS Committee on Commercial Fats and Oils Analysis was prepared during March by J.W. McEwan, committee chairman.)

During recent years the Commercial Fats and Oils Analysis Committee (FAC) has been reviewing Section C of the AOCS Official and Tentative Methods, which is the section discussing commercial fats and oils. Recommendations have been made to the Uniform Methods Committee for consideration.

Several proposed studies were dropped when it was determined there was not sufficient interest to merit further work. These included a "dry unsap" method and a method for relating AOM to formaldehyde formation in stability evaluation.

A suggestion to rewrite Method Cc 13b-45 for Lovibond rather than Wesson apparatus could not be pursued for lack of a volunteer. The committee is hoping Scotty Miller, AOCS Director of Methods Development, will be able to pursue this suggestion.

The committee also handles correspondence with member and nonmembers regarding pertinent methodology. Letters have been written to relatively new AOCS members to recruit them as committee members. Present members include Stan Barta, Honeymead; Ed Hahn, Hahn Labs; Jim Laubscher, Morning Star Lab; George Payne, Humko; Jim Taylor, Swift; and Jack McEwan, Central Soya, chairman.

#### **Rutgers scholar wins Potts Award**

The first Ralph H. Potts Memorial Fellowship Award was presented to Nikolaos Sotirhos, a doctoral student at Rutgers University in New Brunswick, New Jersey.

Sotirhos' research project for his master's degree involved developing an HPLC method to analyze oxidative and polymerized decomposition products in commercial vegetable oils and heated fats. His doctoral research is on purification and fractionation of phospholipids.

The award was instituted by Armak to honor the late Ralph H. Potts, a pioneer researcher in fats and oils chemistry and technology. The award consists of a \$1,000 honorarium and a scroll. The first award was presented during the AOCS meeting in Toronto during May 1982.

Sotirhos received his bachelor of science degree in 1978 from Wagner College and his master of science in 1981 from Rutgers. He expects to complete his doctoral work during 1983.



#### **Bailey presentation**

Thomas H. Applewhite, left, receives the 1982 Alton E. Bailey Award and congratulations from George Bregar, chairman of the award selection committee. Dr. Applewhite, director of research services at Kraft Inc. Research and Development in Glenview, Illinois, is the 22nd Bailey Award recipient. Dr. Applewhite is a past president of the AOCS and the author of more than 50 technical publications and patents. The citation with the award, presented at an AOCS North Central Section meeting on Feb. 17, 1982, read, "In recognition of his distinguished service as a researcher, as a leader in this industry and as a crusader for the highest caliber research in the field of fats, oils and oilseeds." Bregar is with Beckman Instruments in Lincolnwood, Illinois; president of the North Central section is Jack Suriano of EMI Corporation, Des Plaines, Illinois.